November 7, 2018

Stephen Kretzmann, steve [at]
Collin Rees, collin [at]

Nearly a third of Democrats who flipped U.S. House seats refuse Fossil Fuel industry money

New brand of climate leadership emerges

WASHINGTON, DC — Following yesterday’s U.S. midterm elections, which saw a historic surge of Democratic women lead the Democratic Party to take back the U.S. House of Representatives and win races at all levels, Stephen Kretzmann, Executive Director of Oil Change United States, had the following statement:

“Despite the fossil fuel industry-sponsored carpet-bombing of advertising against clean energy and climate around the country, several bright spots survived. A new kind of climate leadership is emerging around the country – one that understands the need to stand up to the oil and gas industry.

“This blue wave had a deep green tint. In a sign of things to come, nearly a third of the Democrats who flipped U.S. House seats have signed the No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge. Of the anticipated 33 new Democratic seats taken over from the Republicans, 11 have signed the Pledge, which commits them to not take contributions from the oil, gas, and coal industry and instead prioritize the health of our families, climate, and democracy over fossil fuel industry profits.

“In New Mexico, voters elected Stephanie Garcia Richard to Public Lands Commissioner, to oversee methane regulations and administer public lands. She is committed to stopping the expansion of fracking and drilling for oil and gas in the Permian Basin, which is the largest new potential carbon bomb in the world today. Chevron, the top leaseholder in the Permian, spent millions to defeat her, but lost.

“New Mexican voters also elected Deb Haaland to Congress. Haaland has pledged to vote against all new fossil fuel infrastructure, in line with climate science and the Paris climate goals. She is a strong advocate for Indigenous rights and climate justice.

“In Minnesota, Ilhan Omar ran a proudly fossil-free campaign for Congress and won, speaking frequently about a just transition to build a clean energy economy with good-paying, union jobs, and vocally opposing the Line 3 tar sands pipeline.

“Preliminary analysis of campaign finance data from the Center for Responsive Politics indicates that fossil fuel industry money was less than ¼ of one percent of all money raised by Democrats running for the House in 2018. Democratic leadership would do well to recall that when the issue of party acceptance of fossil fuel industry donations next surfaces at the DNC.”


Notes to Editors:

Full list of Oil Change United States endorsements:

Oil Change United States-endorsed climate leaders who won their elections include:

Ilhan Omar, U.S. House, MN-05

Deb Haaland, U.S. House, NM-01

Nika Elugardo, Massachusetts State House, 15th Suffolk District

Danielle Friel Otten, Pennsylvania State House, 155th District

Stephanie Garcia Richard, Public Lands Commissioner of New Mexico

Full list of No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge signers:

No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge signers who won their elections include:

Dianne Feinstein, U.S. Senate, CA

Bernie Sanders, U.S. Senate, VT

Ruben Gallego, U.S. House, AZ-07

Barbara Lee, U.S. House, CA-13

Ro Khanna, U.S. House, CA-17

Zoe Lofgren, U.S. House, CA-19

Katie Hill, U.S. House, CA-25 (likely winner)

Nanette Barragán, U.S. House, CA-44

Harley Rouda, U.S. House, CA-48 (likely winner)

Mike Levin, U.S. House, CA-49 (likely winner)

Darren Soto, U.S. House, FL-09

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, U.S. House, FL-26

Tulsi Gabbard, U.S. House, HI-02

Jesús “Chuy” García, U.S. House, IL-04

Jan Schakowsky, U.S. House, IL-09

Ayanna Pressley, U.S. House, MA-07

Jamie Raskin, U.S. House, MD-08

Chellie Pingree, U.S. House, ME-01

Andy Levin, U.S. House, MI-08

Rashida Tlaib, U.S. House, MI-13

Dean Phillips, U.S. House, MN-03

Ilhan Omar, U.S. House, MN-05

Chris Pappas, U.S. House, NH-01

Deb Haaland, U.S. House, NM-01

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, U.S. House, NY-14

Madeleine Dean, U.S. House, PA-04

Mary Gay Scanlon, U.S. House, PA-05

Mary Gay Scanlon, U.S. House, PA-07 (special election)

Susan Ellis Wild, U.S. House, PA-07

Susan Ellis Wild, U.S. House, PA-15 (special election; likely winner)

Elaine Luria U.S. House, VA-02

Jennifer Wexton, U.S. House, VA-10

Pramila Jayapal, U.S. House, WA-07

Kim Schrier, U.S. House, WA-08 (likely winner)

Adam Smith, U.S. House, WA-09

Gavin Newsom, Governor of California

Eleni Kounalakis, Lieutenant Governor of California

John Fetterman, Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania

David Zuckerman, Lieutenant Governor of Vermont

Mandela Barnes, Lieutenant Governor of Wisconsin

Dana Nessel, Attorney General of Michigan

Keith Ellison, Attorney General of Minnesota

Jim Condos, Secretary of State of Vermont

Fiona Ma, State Treasurer of California

Beth Pearce, State Treasurer of Vermont

Doug Hoffer, State Auditor of Vermont


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.